Events, Flora and Courses

Public art, lectures, seasonal blooms, family adventures and courses — there is always something happening at VanDusen. See what’s on now and coming up soon.

Events

Kids Get in Free in March!

Wednesday, March 1 - Friday, March 31

Learn more>>

Medicine Wheel Ceremony

Sunday, March 19 - Sunday, December 17 12:00 pm to 3:00 pm

People from varying backgrounds and spiritual traditions are invited to gather to celebrate the beginning of a new season in a beautiful outdoors setting at VanDusen Garden.

Learn More

UP-CLOSE presented by Vancouver en-plein-air Group

Thursday, March 30 - Tuesday, June 27

New exhibition in the library features artwork zoomed in on nature.

Learn More

Alpine Garden Club of BC - Spring Show & Sale

Saturday, April 1 12 - 4 pm

Join the Alpine Garden Club of BC for their Spring Show and Sale.

Learn More

Sakura Days Japan Fair

Saturday, April 8 - Sunday, April 9 11 am - 5 pm

A family-friendly weekend celebration showcasing the cultural arts of Japan.

Learn More

Tuber Sale

Saturday, April 8 10 am - 4:30 pm

Presented by the Vancouver Dahlia Society

Learn More

Rooted Cuttings Sale

Saturday, April 15 9 am - 12 pm

Presented by the Point Grey Chrysanthemum Association

Learn More
Bloom Calendar

Fall

Thursday, September 22 2016 - Wednesday, December 21 2016

Autumn colours are absolutely stunning at the Garden, and there are plenty of blooms still showing.

Learn More

Spring

Monday, March 20 - Monday, June 20 2016

In spring the Garden is bursting with cheerful rhododendrons, stunning magnolias, delicate cherry blossoms and bloom-full camellias –  to mention a few…

Summer

Tuesday, June 20 - Tuesday, September 20 2016

Summer in the Garden features vibrant colours and fragrant smells for our visitors to enjoy.

Learn More
Courses

Growing Plants without (much) Water

Thursday, May 11 6:30 - 8:30 pm

As the arid summer of 2015 showed us, changing climatic conditions can be a real challenge for gardeners.

Learn More

All About Seeds

Saturday, May 13 10 am - 12:30 pm

Dig deeper into the tiny world of seeds and explore seed botany.

Learn More

Yin Yoga and Meditation

Monday, May 15 - Monday, June 26 10:15 - 11:30 am

The slow, mindful nature of yin yoga blends perfectly with a meditation practice.

Learn More

New! Grow Superfoods Anywhere

Wednesday, May 17 6:30 - 9 pm

From kitchen counter to kitchen garden, discover easy ways to grow superfoods at home.

Learn More

Chigiri-e Paper Art for Beginners: Spring Bouquet

Thursday, May 18 1:30 - 4 pm

Chigiri-e is a Japanese art form using pieces of hand-dyed washi paper to create beautiful and detailed images.

Learn More

New! Introduction to Vertical Gardening

Wednesday, May 24 6:30 - 9 pm

Explore living walls and green facades, and the systems used to implement them.

Learn More

New! Seaweed Pressing Workshop: Preserving Botanical Specimens

Saturday, May 27 10:30 am - 12 pm

Learn to press and preserve gorgeous seaweeds in a variety of colours, textures and sizes.

Learn More