Events, Flora and Courses

Public art, lectures, seasonal blooms, family adventures and courses — there is always something happening at VanDusen. See what’s on now and coming up soon.

Events

Preschool Storytime: Nature’s Stories for Young Children

Wednesday, March 28 - Wednesday, November 28 10:00 to 10:45 am

Takes place on the 4th Wednesday of each month from 10:00 to 10:45 am and includes reading, action songs and a craft project.

Learn More

Imagination, Enfoldment, Infinities Edge

Friday, March 30 - Sunday, April 29

Photographic art by Jack Vainer, Nettie Adams and Vicki Morell.

Learn More

Brush with Nature

Saturday, April 14 - Tuesday, June 26

The 4th Annual Vancouver plein air group exhibition of images painted onsite at VanDusen Garden. Official opening on Saturday, April 14th from 2-4 pm.

Learn More

BC Fuchsia and Begonia Society - Plant, Bake & Craft Sale

Saturday, April 21 9 am - 3 pm

Check out the BC Fuchsia and Begonia Society’s spring sale.

Learn More

Member Mornings

Saturday, April 21 - Saturday, August 11 8 am - 9 am

Member Mornings at VanDusen Garden are back!

Learn More

April Bird Walk

Saturday, April 28 10 am

Take a guided tour through VanDusen and learn about the native bird species that make their home in the garden.

Learn More

Vancouver African Violet & Gesneriad Society Show & Sale

Saturday, May 5 1 - 4 pm

Join the Vancouver African Violet & Gesneriad Society for their annual show and sale.

Learn More
Bloom Calendar

Summer

Wednesday, June 20 - Thursday, September 20

Summer in the Garden features vibrant colours and fragrant smells for our visitors to enjoy.

Learn More

Fall

Saturday, September 22 - Friday, December 21

Autumn colours are absolutely stunning at the Garden, and there are plenty of blooms still showing.

Learn More

Winter

Friday, December 21 - Wednesday, March 20 2019

The winter Garden features muted colour palettes, stunning silhouettes and a scattering of colour with winter berries and blooms.

Learn More
Courses

Drip Irrigation Systems: How to DIY

Wednesday, June 6 6:30 PM to 9:00 PM

With climate change making our summers drier and longer, the need to water our plants in a responsible way is more important than ever.

Learn More

Get to Know Your Pollinators

Sunday, June 10 1 - 3:30 pm

Go beyond the bees and butterflies and discover the immense world of pollinators that can visit your garden!

Learn More

Enlighten Your Photos

Sunday, June 10 10:30 AM to 4:30 PM

Light eff ects are crucial to good photography

Learn More

Year-round Gardening with Succulents

Wednesday, June 13 6:30 PM to 9:00 PM

Succulents are very popular plants for good reason: they grow in a huge variety of gorgeous shapes and colours, can often be low-maintenance, and are drought tolerant.

Learn More

Practical Summer Pruning

Saturday, June 16 10:00 AM to 1:30 PM

Take a seasonal look at pruning and learn why, where, and how to cut plants, and how they will respond.

Learn More

Edible Wall and Fence Gardens

Wednesday, June 20 6:30 - 9 pm

Sunlit walls and fences can be an ideal location to grow vegetables and herbs, even in high density areas.

Learn More

Watercolour Still-life Workshop

Thursday, June 21 10:00 AM to 2:00 PM

Practice your watercolour stil-life painting skills and learn how to improve your technique with professional artist and long-time instructor Susan Pearson.

Learn More