Events, Flora and Courses

Public art, lectures, seasonal blooms, family adventures and courses — there is always something happening at VanDusen. See what’s on now and coming up soon.

Events

Rain Barrel and Backyard Composter Sale

Sunday, May 6 10 am - 3 pm

Have a water wise garden this spring!

Learn More

Chinese Penjing Society of Canada - Exhibition & Sale

Saturday, May 12 - Sunday, May 13

Join the Chinese Penjing Society of Canada for their annual event.

Learn More

All British Field Meet ABFM 2018

Saturday, May 19

The 33rd showing of the Greatest Show on British Wheels returns to VanDusen Botanical Garden on the Victoria Day weekend.

Learn More

VJGA Sumi Bonsai Club Show

Saturday, May 19 - Sunday, May 20

Join the VJGA Sumi Bonsai Club for their annual show.

Learn More

May Bird Walk

Saturday, May 26 10 am

Enjoy a guided tour at VanDusen Botanical Garden, seeking out the bird species that make their home in this beautiful, 22-hectare garden.

Learn More

Desert Plant Society of Vancouver - Show & Sale

Saturday, June 9 - Sunday, June 10

Join the Desert Plant Society of Vancouver for their annual show.

Learn More

Pollinator Days

Wednesday, June 13 - Thursday, June 14 10 am – 2 pm

A buzz-worthy field trip engaging students in their natural surroundings. Register before April 30th and receive $2 off per student!

Learn More
Bloom Calendar

Summer

Wednesday, June 20 - Thursday, September 20

Summer in the Garden features vibrant colours and fragrant smells for our visitors to enjoy.

Learn More

Fall

Saturday, September 22 - Friday, December 21

Autumn colours are absolutely stunning at the Garden, and there are plenty of blooms still showing.

Learn More

Winter

Friday, December 21 - Wednesday, March 20 2019

The winter Garden features muted colour palettes, stunning silhouettes and a scattering of colour with winter berries and blooms.

Learn More
Courses

Brain and Body Workout for Boomers and Beyond

Tuesday, April 3 - Tuesday, June 19 10:30 - 11:30 am

This class, designed by Kinesiologists and Occupational Therapists, is an evidence-based program to improve both physical and brain conditioning.

Learn More

Better Balance Workout for Seniors (Fall)

Wednesday, April 4 - Wednesday, June 20 12 - 12:45 pm

This is a gentle class for all levels, focused on balance and mobility for fitness and for preventing falls.

Learn More

Gentle Yoga

Wednesday, April 4 - Wednesday, June 6 10:15 - 11:30

Start your day with this gentle yoga practice; relieve tension held in hips, spine and shoulders to deeply relax your body.

Learn More

Watercolour Meetups

Thursday, April 5 - Thursday, May 10 10 am - 12:30 pm

Bring your paint, questions, and ongoing projects to our weekly series of meetups hosted by long-time instructor Susan Pearson this spring.

Learn More

New! Flow to Slow Yoga

Monday, April 9 - Monday, May 14 10:15 - 11:30 am

Join us for an energizing, relaxing yoga practice.

Learn More

Botanical Illustration

Friday, April 20 - Friday, May 25 10 am - 1 pm

Learn how to draw plants from an aesthetic and botanical perspective while improving your observation and artistic skills.

Learn More

New! Enhance Your Food with Herbal Powders

Saturday, April 21 1:30 - 4 pm

Discover how to get the nutritional and healing benefits of herbs into your diet with herbal powders – finely milled plant material such as leaves, bark, flowers and berries.

Learn More