Events, Flora and Courses

Public art, lectures, seasonal blooms, family adventures and courses — there is always something happening at VanDusen. See what’s on now and coming up soon.

Events

Preschool Nature Camps for children aged 4-5

Tuesday, August 7 - Friday, August 10

Each day is a new adventure at our nature based camp! Discover the amazing world of birds, bugs, and plants through fun and games.

Learn More

Budding Birders at the Backyard Bird Garden

Thursday, August 23 10 am - 12 pm

Families with children ages 4 – 10 are invited to drop by anytime between 10 am and 12 pm for a morning of hands-on activities to learn more about the birds that frequent VanDusen.

Learn More

Sale of Orchids and Companion Plants

Saturday, August 25 10 am - 4 pm

Presented by the Vancouver Orchid Society

Learn More

Dahlia Show

Saturday, September 1 - Sunday, September 2

Join the Vancouver Dahlia Society for their annual show.

Learn More

Early Chrysanthemum Sale

Saturday, September 8 - Sunday, September 9

Presented by the Point Grey Chrysanthemum Association

Learn More

Alpine Garden Club of BC - Fall Sale

Saturday, September 15 12 - 4 pm

Join the Alpine Garden Club of BC for their fall show.

Learn More

September Bird Walk

Saturday, September 22 10 am

Take a guided tour through VanDusen and learn about the native bird species that make their home in the garden.

Learn More
Bloom Calendar

Summer

Wednesday, June 20 - Thursday, September 20

Summer in the Garden features vibrant colours and fragrant smells for our visitors to enjoy.

Learn More

Fall

Saturday, September 22 - Friday, December 21

Autumn colours are absolutely stunning at the Garden, and there are plenty of blooms still showing.

Learn More

Winter

Friday, December 21 - Wednesday, March 20 2019

The winter Garden features muted colour palettes, stunning silhouettes and a scattering of colour with winter berries and blooms.

Learn More
Courses

New! Flow to Slow Yoga

Monday, June 4 - Monday, June 25 10:15 - 11:30 am

Join us for an energizing, relaxing yoga practice.

Learn More

The Naturalist’s Journal: Botanical Drawing

Saturday, June 23 10:00 AM to 4:00 PM

Improve your drawing skills for journaling, teaching, or pure enjoyment.

Learn More

FULL - Acrylic Painting Workshop for Beginners

Sunday, June 24 9:30 am - 12:30 pm

Thank you for your interest, this workshop is now full.

Learn More

Acrylic Painting Workshop for Beginners: Floral Arrangement using Acrylic Skins

Sunday, June 24 9:30 AM to 12:30 PM

These workshops provide all the supplies you need, along with step-by-step instruction by local artist Jane Saborio.

Learn More

Celebrate Summer Garden Stroll

Wednesday, June 27 6:30 PM to 8:30 PM

Spend a summer evening in VanDusen with Egan, exploring some of his favorite ‘hidden’ spots in the garden at this time of year.

Learn More

Seaweed Pressing Workshop: Preserving Seasonal Specimens

Sunday, July 8 - Sunday, July 8 1:30 - 3:30 pm

Learn to press and preserve gorgeous seaweeds in a variety of colours, textures and sizes.

Learn More

Summer Evening Perennial Walk

Wednesday, July 18 6:00 PM to 8:30 PM

Spend the evening outside in the Perennial and Black Gardens

Learn More