Filters

Events

Works by Vicky Earle

Friday, September 15 - Thursday, December 14 hours vary (see description)

Inspired by plant species found at the Bloedel Conservatory, “Duets” is a visual exploration of unique symbiotic relationships unfolding every day in rainforests around the world.

Learn More

Preschool Storytime: Nature’s Stories for Young Children

Wednesday, November 22 10:00 - 10:45 am

Takes place on the 4th Wednesday of each month from 10:00 to 10:45 am and includes reading, action songs and a craft project.

Learn More

Bird Walk

Saturday, November 25 10 am

Take a guided tour through VanDusen and learn about the native bird species that make their home in the garden.

Learn More

Festival of Lights 2017

Friday, December 1 - Sunday, January 7 2018

This annual holiday event runs from December 1, 2017 through to January 7, 2018

Learn more>>

Bird Walk

Saturday, December 16 10 am

Take a guided tour through VanDusen and learn about the native bird species that make their home in the garden.

Learn More

Medicine Wheel Ceremony

Sunday, December 17 12:00 pm to 3:00 pm

People from varying backgrounds and spiritual traditions are invited to gather to celebrate the beginning of a new season in a beautiful outdoors setting at VanDusen Garden.

Learn More

Plant Sale Potluck - Donations Needed!

Thursday, March 1 2018

Do you have healthy plants that have expanded beyond your space, or you want to replace? We’ll take care of them! Donations accepted again starting March 1st, 2018

Learn More
Bloom Calendar

Winter

Thursday, December 21 - Tuesday, March 20 2018

The winter Garden features muted colour palettes, stunning silhouettes and a scattering of colour with winter berries and blooms.

Learn More

Spring

Tuesday, March 20 2018 - Wednesday, June 20 2018

In spring the Garden is bursting with cheerful rhododendrons, stunning magnolias, delicate cherry blossoms and bloom-full camellias –  to mention a few…

Summer

Wednesday, June 20 2018 - Thursday, September 20 2018

Summer in the Garden features vibrant colours and fragrant smells for our visitors to enjoy.

Learn More
Courses

Botanical Illustration (Oct-Dec)

Friday, October 27 - Friday, December 1 10 am - 12:30 pm

Learn how to draw plants from an aesthetic and botanical perspective while improving your observation and artistic skills.

Learn More

Holiday Watercolour Cards

Thursday, November 23 10 am - 2 pm

Paint your own unique watercolour greeting cards using poinsettia, holly and berries as your festive still life subjects.

Learn More

Festival of Lights Photography Workshop

Wednesday, December 6 3:00 - 8:30 pm

Develop your night time photography skills and have fun playing with light in the sparkling beauty of VanDusen’s Festival of Lights.

Learn More

Painting with Watercolour: Winter

Thursday, January 18 2018 - Thursday, February 15 2018 10 am - 12:30 pm

Express the colours of the season through watercolour.

Learn More

New! Drawing Vegetables

Friday, January 19 2018 10 am - 2 pm

This one-day workshop explores how to draw some seasonal vegetables: squash, root veggies, winter greens, and more!

Learn More

Botanical Illustration (Feb - Mar)

Friday, February 2 2018 - Friday, March 9 2018 10 am - 12:30 pm

Learn how to draw plants from an aesthetic and botanical perspective while improving your observation and artistic skills.

Learn More

Drawing Birds in the Conservatory

Saturday, February 10 2018 10 am - 3 pm

Whether it’s purely for the fun of drawing, or to strengthen observation skills for studying birds, learn how to capture the plain form and some essential features of birds with simple sketches.

Learn More

New! Creative Photography: Tropical Textures

Saturday, February 17 2018 10:30 am - 4:30 pm

Bring your camera as we hunt for tropical treasures that are waiting to be photographed.

Learn More