Filters

Events

Works by Anna Milton

Friday, June 30 - Wednesday, September 27 during library hours

In the Yosef Wosk Library and Resource Centre

Learn More

BC Fuchsia and Begonia Society - Annual Show & Competition

Saturday, July 29 - Sunday, July 30 10 am - 4 pm

Join the BC Fuchsia & Begonia Society for their Annual Show & Competition.

Learn More

Social Sundays

Tuesday, August 1 - Thursday, August 31

Pack a blanket and bring your friends to VanDusen Botanical Garden for Social Sundays this August! Learn more>>

Sale of Orchids and Companion Plants

Saturday, August 19 10 am - 4 pm

Presented by the Vancouver Orchid Society

Learn More

Teacher Open House (free!)

Thursday, August 31 10 am - 12 pm

Save the Date! For K-12 Teachers.

 

Learn More

Dahlia Show

Saturday, September 2 - Sunday, September 3 12 - 3:30 pm

Join the Vancouver Dahlia Society for their annual show.

Learn More

Early Chrysanthemum Sale

Saturday, September 9 - Sunday, September 10 12 - 4 pm

Presented by the Point Grey Chrysanthemum Association

Learn More
Bloom Calendar

Spring

Monday, March 20 - Tuesday, June 20

In spring the Garden is bursting with cheerful rhododendrons, stunning magnolias, delicate cherry blossoms and bloom-full camellias –  to mention a few…

Fall

Friday, September 22 - Thursday, December 21

Autumn colours are absolutely stunning at the Garden, and there are plenty of blooms still showing.

Learn More

Winter

Thursday, December 21 - Tuesday, March 20 2018

The winter Garden features muted colour palettes, stunning silhouettes and a scattering of colour with winter berries and blooms.

Learn More
Courses

New! Seaweed Pressing Workshop: Preserving Autumn Specimens

Saturday, September 9 10:30 am - 12:30 pm

Learn to press and preserve gorgeous seaweeds in a variety of colours, textures and sizes.

Learn More

Chigiri-e Paper Art: Pansies

Thursday, September 14 1:30 - 4:30 pm

Chigiri-e is a Japanese art form using pieces of hand-dyed washi paper to create beautiful and detailed images.

Learn More

New! Watercolour Troubleshooting Workshop with Susan

Thursday, September 21 10 am - 2 pm

Bring your watercolour painting questions and challenges to this workshop, and Susan Pearson will offer as much one on one help as possible along with group demonstrations.

Learn More

Creative Photography Principles 1

Saturday, September 23 10:30 - 4:30 pm

Enjoy the beautiful setting of the Garden while you hone your photography skills.

Learn More

New! Demystifying Colour - A Watercolour Workshop

Thursday, September 28 10 am - 2 pm

This class is all about colour mixing, using watercolour. Seeing colour is something you do every day – but how do you transfer this onto paper?

Learn More

Drawing Nature

Friday, September 29 - Friday, October 13 10 am - 12:30 pm

This three-part workshop is for everyone who finds inspiration in nature, and wants to improve their ability to capture the beauty or the detail through drawing.

Learn More

New! Creative Photography Principles 2

Saturday, September 30 10:30 am - 4:30 pm

Build upon your understanding of photography principles, such as the effects of speed and lighting.

Learn More

New! Natural Dyes from Your Garden

Saturday, September 30 10:30 am - 12:30 pm

Explore the many beautiful colours you can derive from the “weeds” and flowers growing in your own garden, or even from some common kitchen compostables.

Learn More

Painting Fall with Watercolour

Thursday, October 5 - Thursday, November 2 10 am - 12:30 pm

Take a trip through painting, finding inspiration in the vibrant colours of fall foliage, blooms, and even squash in our fall series.

Learn More

Chigiri-e Paper Art: 'Fall' in Love

Thursday, October 12 - Thursday, October 19 1:30 - 4 pm

Chigiri-e is a Japanese art form using pieces of hand-dyed washi paper to create beautiful and detailed images.

Learn More

Digital Photography Workshop in the Autumn Garden

Saturday, October 21 10:30 am - 4:30 pm

Expand your photographic knowledge, technique, and understanding of a digital camera’s functionality to improve your photos while using the autumn Garden as your inspiration.

Learn More

Botanical Illustration (Oct-Dec)

Friday, October 27 - Friday, December 1 10 am - 12:30 pm

Learn how to draw plants from an aesthetic and botanical perspective while improving your observation and artistic skills.

Learn More

Chigiri-e Paper Art: Die Winterreise

Thursday, November 16 1:30 - 4:30 pm

Chigiri-e is a Japanese art form using pieces of hand-dyed washi paper to create beautiful and detailed images.

Learn More

Holiday Watercolour Cards

Thursday, November 23 10 am - 2 pm

Paint your own unique watercolour greeting cards using poinsettia, holly and berries as your festive still life subjects.

Learn More

Festival of Lights Photography Workshop

Wednesday, December 6 3:00 - 8:30 pm

Develop your night time photography skills and have fun playing with light in the sparkling beauty of VanDusen’s Festival of Lights.

Learn More

New! Drawing Vegetables

Friday, January 19 2018 10 am - 2 pm

This one-day workshop explores how to draw some seasonal vegetables: squash, root veggies, winter greens, and more!

Learn More

Botanical Illustration (Feb - Mar)

Friday, February 2 2018 - Friday, March 9 2018 10 am - 12:30 pm

Learn how to draw plants from an aesthetic and botanical perspective while improving your observation and artistic skills.

Learn More

Drawing Birds in the Conservatory

Saturday, February 10 2018 10 am - 3 pm

Whether it’s purely for the fun of drawing, or to strengthen observation skills for studying birds, learn how to capture the plain form and some essential features of birds with simple sketches.

Learn More

New! Creative Photography: Tropical Textures

Saturday, February 17 2018 10:30 am - 4:30 pm

Bring your camera as we hunt for tropical treasures that are waiting to be photographed.

Learn More