Filters

Events

UP-CLOSE presented by Vancouver en-plein-air Group

Thursday, March 30 - Tuesday, June 27

New exhibition in the library features artwork zoomed in on nature.

Learn More

Preschool Storytime: Nature’s Stories for Young Children

Wednesday, April 26 - Wednesday, June 28 10:00 - 10:40 am

Every 4th Wednesday of the month in the Library

Learn More

Mainly Vancouver - Work By Michael Kluckner

Saturday, April 29 - Sunday, May 28 During Garden Hours

Michael Kluckner’s first local exhibition in 11 years includes watercolours from his books about Vancouver, chiaroscuro woodcuts and drawings of people and places, and oil paintings exploring new territory.

Learn More

Bird Walk

Saturday, April 29 10 am

Take a guided tour through VanDusen and learn about the native bird species that make their home in the garden.

Learn More

Vancouver African Violet & Gesneriad Society Show & Sale

Saturday, May 6 1 - 4 pm

Join the Vancouver African Violet & Gesneriad Society for their annual show and sale.

Learn More

Vancouver Bird Week Bird Walk

Saturday, May 6 9 am - 11 am

Enjoy a guided tour at VanDusen Botanical Garden, seeking out the bird species that make their home in this beautiful, 22-hectare garden.

Learn More

Rain Barrel and Backyard Composter Sale

Sunday, May 7 10 am - 3 pm

The Rain Barrel Truck Load Sale is Back!  And we’ve added Backyard Composters!

Learn More
Bloom Calendar

Summer

Tuesday, June 20 - Wednesday, September 20

Summer in the Garden features vibrant colours and fragrant smells for our visitors to enjoy.

Learn More

Fall

Friday, September 22 - Thursday, December 21

Autumn colours are absolutely stunning at the Garden, and there are plenty of blooms still showing.

Learn More

Winter

Thursday, December 21 - Tuesday, March 20 2018

The winter Garden features muted colour palettes, stunning silhouettes and a scattering of colour with winter berries and blooms.

Learn More
Courses

New! Veggies on Your Patio

Saturday, April 29 1:30 - 4:30 pm

This class is perfect for urban gardeners who want to get started with growing veggies in containers, but need tips on where to begin.

Learn More

New! Hanging Baskets for Beauty and Bounty

Wednesday, May 3 6:30 - 8:30 pm

Mix in flowers with edibles in a hanging basket, attract pollinators, and enjoy a pretty tasty summer.

Learn More

Introduction to Permaculture

Saturday, May 6 10 am - 12:30 pm

This overview will cover the definitions, concepts and principles of permaculture.

Learn More

Permaculture: Grow an Urban Food Forest

Saturday, May 6 1:30 - 4 pm

Take a deeper look into the concepts of permaculture, and learn how to design and create a diverse garden that yields food and provides habitat.

Learn More

New! Spring Evening Garden Stroll with a Gardener

Wednesday, May 10 6:30 - 8:30 pm

Enjoy the magic of VanDusen in the early evening with long-time staff gardener, Casey Werfl.

Learn More

Growing Plants without (much) Water

Thursday, May 11 6:30 - 8:30 pm

As the arid summer of 2015 showed us, changing climatic conditions can be a real challenge for gardeners.

Learn More

New! Grow Superfoods Anywhere

Wednesday, May 17 6:30 - 9 pm

From kitchen counter to kitchen garden, discover easy ways to grow superfoods at home.

Learn More

New! Introduction to Vertical Gardening

Wednesday, May 24 6:30 - 9 pm

Explore living walls and green facades, and the systems used to implement them.

Learn More

New! Plants for Interest and Pizzazz in your Garden

Wednesday, May 31 6:30 - 9 pm

Learn how to design with diverse combinations of colours and patterns to add playful and bold features to your garden.

Learn More

Designing for Scent in the Garden

Wednesday, June 7 6:30 - 9 pm

Learn how to incorporate fragrance from plants into your outdoor entertaining space, or entrance way.

Learn More

New! Edible Wall and Fence Gardens

Thursday, June 8 6:30 - 9 pm

Learn which vertical gardening methods are most suitable for edibles.

Learn More

Summer Pruning

Saturday, June 10 10 am - 2 pm

Take a seasonal look at pruning and learn why, where, and how to cut plants, and how they will respond.

Learn More

Herbs for Every Season

Wednesday, June 14 6:30 - 9 pm

Learn how to get the most out of herbs.

Learn More

Drought Tolerant Gardening

Wednesday, July 5 6:30 - 9 pm

This class explores how to maintain a beautiful garden under low water conditions.

Learn More

New! From Seed to Harvest: Make the Most of your Urban Garden

Saturday, July 8 9:30 am - 12:30 pm

Growing food from seed is the least expensive and most rewarding way to plant your vegetable garden.

Learn More

Eat from your Garden Year-round

Saturday, July 15 9:30 am - 12:30 pm

Learn what to grow and when to sow your winter garden and how to prevent common problems that the winter garden faces.

Learn More

All about Perennials

Wednesday, July 26 6:00 - 8:30 pm

Spend the evening outside in the Perennial Garden and Black Gardens with VanDusen gardener, Casey Werfl.

Learn More

Knee Deep in the Organic Veggie Garden

Wednesday, August 16 6:30 - 9 pm

This course will take place entirely outside in VanDusen’s vegetable garden, giving participants a living window of knowledge into a food garden.

Learn More