Filters

Events

Preschool Storytime: Nature’s Stories for Young Children

Wednesday, March 28 - Wednesday, November 28 10:00 to 10:45 am

Takes place on the 4th Wednesday of each month from 10:00 to 10:45 am and includes reading, action songs and a craft project.

Learn More

Imagination, Enfoldment, Infinities Edge

Friday, March 30 - Sunday, April 29

Photographic art by Jack Vainer, Nettie Adams and Vicki Morell.

Learn More

Brush with Nature

Saturday, April 14 - Tuesday, June 26

The 4th Annual Vancouver plein air group exhibition of images painted onsite at VanDusen Garden. Official opening on Saturday, April 14th from 2-4 pm.

Learn More

BC Fuchsia and Begonia Society - Plant, Bake & Craft Sale

Saturday, April 21 9 am - 3 pm

Check out the BC Fuchsia and Begonia Society’s spring sale.

Learn More

Member Mornings

Saturday, April 21 - Saturday, August 11 8 am - 9 am

Member Mornings at VanDusen Garden are back!

Learn More

April Bird Walk

Saturday, April 28 10 am

Take a guided tour through VanDusen and learn about the native bird species that make their home in the garden.

Learn More

Vancouver African Violet & Gesneriad Society Show & Sale

Saturday, May 5 1 - 4 pm

Join the Vancouver African Violet & Gesneriad Society for their annual show and sale.

Learn More
Bloom Calendar

Summer

Wednesday, June 20 - Thursday, September 20

Summer in the Garden features vibrant colours and fragrant smells for our visitors to enjoy.

Learn More

Fall

Saturday, September 22 - Friday, December 21

Autumn colours are absolutely stunning at the Garden, and there are plenty of blooms still showing.

Learn More

Winter

Friday, December 21 - Wednesday, March 20 2019

The winter Garden features muted colour palettes, stunning silhouettes and a scattering of colour with winter berries and blooms.

Learn More
Courses

Planning a Successful Planting Season

Saturday, April 21 9:30 am - 12:30 pm

Give plants the best possible start in your garden, and set them up for years of healthy growth.

Learn More

New! Emerging Spring Garden Stroll

Saturday, April 21 10 am - 12 pm

Join Egan Davis for a fun and informative walk through the fabulous early spring Garden.

Learn More

CANCELLED - Sustainable Composting for Urban Living

Wednesday, April 25 6:30 - 9 pm

Discover the importance and advantages of domestic composting while learning practical applications that you can easily integrate into your daily routine.

Learn More

Culinary Hanging Basket Workshop

Wednesday, May 2 6:30 - 8:30 pm

Mix in flowers with edibles in a hanging basket, attract pollinators, and enjoy a pretty tasty summer.

Learn More

Attractive Edible Containers Workshop

Saturday, May 5 1:30 PM to 3:30 PM

Grow fruit, herbs, and vegetables in containers year round!

Learn More

Introduction to Vertical Gardening

Wednesday, May 16 6:30 - 9 pm

As cities densify and large yards become scarce, vertical gardening becomes the best option for expanding our useable space. Vertical gardens are beautiful, creative additions to your home, bringing nature into unlikely locations.

Learn More

Spring Evening Garden Stroll with a Gardener

Wednesday, May 23 6:00 - 8:30 pm

Enjoy the magic of VanDusen in the early evening with long-time staff gardener, Casey Werfl

Learn More

Drip Irrigation Systems: How to DIY

Wednesday, June 6 6:30 PM to 9:00 PM

With climate change making our summers drier and longer, the need to water our plants in a responsible way is more important than ever.

Learn More

Year-round Gardening with Succulents

Wednesday, June 13 6:30 PM to 9:00 PM

Succulents are very popular plants for good reason: they grow in a huge variety of gorgeous shapes and colours, can often be low-maintenance, and are drought tolerant.

Learn More

Practical Summer Pruning

Saturday, June 16 10:00 AM to 1:30 PM

Take a seasonal look at pruning and learn why, where, and how to cut plants, and how they will respond.

Learn More

Edible Wall and Fence Gardens

Wednesday, June 20 6:30 - 9 pm

Sunlit walls and fences can be an ideal location to grow vegetables and herbs, even in high density areas.

Learn More

Celebrate Summer Garden Stroll

Wednesday, June 27 6:30 PM to 8:30 PM

Spend a summer evening in VanDusen with Egan, exploring some of his favorite ‘hidden’ spots in the garden at this time of year.

Learn More

Summer Evening Perennial Walk

Wednesday, July 18 6:00 PM to 8:30 PM

Spend the evening outside in the Perennial and Black Gardens

Learn More

How Does your Organic Garden Grow?

Saturday, July 28 9:30 AM to 12:30 PM

During this interactive course, taste and examine different samples of fresh home grown veggies such as beans, peas, carrots and beets while we explore best practices for a successful organic garden.

Learn More

Veggie Gardening for Year-round Harvest

Saturday, August 18 10:00 AM to 12:30 PM

The end of summer doesn’t have to mean the end of your edibles! Join Jennifer for an afternoon of learning what and how to plant for continuous harvest this winter, and discovering some of the best varieties of veggies for the cooler growing season.

Learn More