Filters

Events

Works by Anna Milton

Friday, June 30 - Wednesday, September 27 during library hours

In the Yosef Wosk Library and Resource Centre

Learn More

BC Fuchsia and Begonia Society - Annual Show & Competition

Saturday, July 29 - Sunday, July 30 10 am - 4 pm

Join the BC Fuchsia & Begonia Society for their Annual Show & Competition.

Learn More

Social Sundays

Tuesday, August 1 - Thursday, August 31

Pack a blanket and bring your friends to VanDusen Botanical Garden for Social Sundays this August! Learn more>>

Sale of Orchids and Companion Plants

Saturday, August 19 10 am - 4 pm

Presented by the Vancouver Orchid Society

Learn More

Teacher Open House (free!)

Thursday, August 31 10 am - 12 pm

Save the Date! For K-12 Teachers.

 

Learn More

Dahlia Show

Saturday, September 2 - Sunday, September 3 12 - 3:30 pm

Join the Vancouver Dahlia Society for their annual show.

Learn More

Early Chrysanthemum Sale

Saturday, September 9 - Sunday, September 10 12 - 4 pm

Presented by the Point Grey Chrysanthemum Association

Learn More
Bloom Calendar

Spring

Monday, March 20 - Tuesday, June 20

In spring the Garden is bursting with cheerful rhododendrons, stunning magnolias, delicate cherry blossoms and bloom-full camellias –  to mention a few…

Fall

Friday, September 22 - Thursday, December 21

Autumn colours are absolutely stunning at the Garden, and there are plenty of blooms still showing.

Learn More

Winter

Thursday, December 21 - Tuesday, March 20 2018

The winter Garden features muted colour palettes, stunning silhouettes and a scattering of colour with winter berries and blooms.

Learn More
Courses

Knee Deep in the Organic Veggie Garden

Wednesday, August 16 6:30 - 9 pm

This course will take place entirely outside in VanDusen’s vegetable garden, giving participants a living window of knowledge into a food garden.

Learn More

New! Fall Planting and Winter Garden Prep

Saturday, September 16 9:30 - 12:30 pm

This class offers a great overview on how to plan your fall plantings, as well as which garden preparations are best done before winter arrives.

Learn More

New! Janis’ Top Trees and Shrubs

Wednesday, September 20 6 - 8:30 pm

Discover Janis’ favourite low maintenance trees and shrubs for year-round enjoyment in home gardens.

Learn More

New! How to Grow an Edible Garden this Winter

Saturday, September 23 1 - 4 pm

The end of summer doesn’t have to mean the end of your edibles!

Learn More

Permaculture: An Introduction

Saturday, September 23 10 am - 12:30 pm

This overview will cover the definitions, concepts and principles of permaculture.

Learn More

New! Indoor Vertical Gardens

Wednesday, September 27 6:30 - 9 pm

Explore living walls, window farms, and other vertical systems that add plenty of greenery to your home or office without taking up much space.

Learn More

Permaculture: Food Forests

Sunday, October 1 10 am - 12:30 pm

Take a deeper look into the concepts of permaculture, and learn how to design and create a diverse garden that yields food and provides habitat.

Learn More

Soil Lab for Gardeners

Saturday, October 14 10 am - 12:30 pm

Get a practical understanding of your soil with this workshop that combines lecture and hands-on lab activities using soil from participants’ gardens.

Learn More

Fun with Ferns

Wednesday, October 18 6:30 - 9 pm

Ferns are graceful, dependable and low maintenance, and will thrive in most gardens. 

Learn More

Winter Pruning

Saturday, October 21 10 am - 2 pm

During this seasonal look at pruning, join VanDusen gardener, Casey Werfl, for an overview of the fundamentals of pruning, and specifics on tree and shrub structure.

Learn More

New! Enjoy Microgreens and Sprouts all Winter

Saturday, November 4 10 am - 12:30 pm

Microgreens and sprouts are delicate, young plants that are harvested while tiny and tasty. Learn how to enjoy them all year at home.

Learn More

Easy-to-Grow Native Plants

Wednesday, November 15 6:30 - 9 pm

With close to 3,000 species of plants native to BC, there is something beautiful and easy to grow for every home garden.

Learn More

New! Essentials of Landscape Design

Wednesday, January 24 2018 - Wednesday, January 31 2018 6:30 - 9 pm

Spring is just around corner, so it’s time to start thinking about garden design.

Learn More

Veggies - What to Grow and When to Sow

Saturday, February 17 2018 10 am - 12:30 pm

For new (or always improving) vegetable gardeners, this course will cover the basics on what are the best veggies to grow in our climate, and how to successfully get started.

Learn More

New! Spiral Herb Gardens: Easy, Efficient and Beautiful!

Wednesday, February 21 2018 6:30 - 8:30 pm

Learn how to set up your own spiral garden as an easy DIY project. The result is compact, accessible, thoughtful and aesthetically pleasing, making it a wonderful centrepiece in your garden.

Learn More

Renovation Pruning

Saturday, February 24 2018 10 am - 2 pm

This course with long-time VanDusen gardener, Casey Werfl, takes a seasonal look at pruning, with focus on flowering shrubs, and renovation pruning.

Learn More

New! Designing for Lawn Replacement

Wednesday, February 28 2018 6:30 - 9 pm

Discover inspiring lawn-less designs and how to implement them in your own garden.

Learn More