Events, Flora and Courses

Public art, lectures, seasonal blooms, family adventures and courses — there is always something happening at VanDusen. See what’s on now and coming up soon.

Events

Bird walk

Saturday, February 27 10 am

Take a guided tour through VanDusen and learn about the native bird species that make their home in the garden.

Learn More

Soil, Manure & Compost Sale

Saturday, February 27 10 am - 3 pm

It’s that time of year! Stock up on Red Label Topsoil, Brown Label Manure and compost from Harvest Power.

Learn More

Spring Flower & Penjing Exhibition

Saturday, March 12 - Sunday, March 13 10am - 4pm

The Metro Vancouver Gardening Society presents their Spring Flower & Penjing Exhibition.

Learn More

Spring Break Camp - Budding Birders

Monday, March 14 9:30 am - 3:30 pm

Explore birds at VanDusen Botanical Garden. Learn how to start identifying birds by sight or sound, study migration, and participate in citizen science initiatives like the Great Backyard Bird Count.s.

Learn More

Spring Break Camp - Living Fossils

Wednesday, March 16 9 am - 3:30 pm

Journey back in time for a tour of VanDusen’s prehistoric plants.  Explore these plants’ defenses against the predators of the era and learn to make a stegosaurus salad.  Take home your own cast preserving an ancient plant.

Learn More

Spring Break Camp - Signs of Spring

Monday, March 21 9 am - 3:30 pm

Investigate the start of spring by getting outside to hunt for early flowers, leaf buds bursting open, birds, bugs and more. Dissect buds and bulbs to explore what’s happening inside, and plant wildflower seeds to take home in your own decorated container.

Learn More

Spring Break Camp - Garden Grossology

Tuesday, March 22 9 am - 3:30 pm

Delve hands-on into the slimy and smelly side of the Garden! This camp is not for the squeamish, as we will seek out all that is stinky, slimy or strange. Count the corpses inside pitcher plants, explore decomposition in action, and dig up worms to identify as you learn about Project WormWatch.

Learn More
Bloom Calendar

Fall

Wednesday, September 23 2015 - Monday, December 21 2015

See what’s in bloom this fall. Autumn colours are absolutely stunning at the Garden!

Learn More

Spring

Monday, March 21 - Sunday, June 19

In spring the Garden is bursting with cheerful rhododendrons, delicate cherry blossoms and lovely snowdrops –  to mention a few…

Learn More

Summer

Monday, June 20 - Thursday, September 22

Summer in the Garden features vibrant colours and fragrant smells for our visitors to enjoy.

Learn More
Courses

The Brain and Body Workout for Seniors

Tuesday, January 12 - Tuesday, February 16 10:30 - 11:30 am

This class, designed by Kinesiologists and Occupational Therapists, is an evidence-based program to improve both physical and brain conditioning.

Learn More

New! Better Balance Workout for Seniors

Wednesday, January 13 - Wednesday, February 17 1:30 - 2:15 pm

This is a gentle class for all levels, focused on balance and mobility for fitness and for preventing falls. Exercises can be done seated or standing, and participants will increase their functional strength and mobility, core stability, lower body strength, and improve their balance.

Learn More

Yin Yoga and Meditation

Monday, January 18 - Monday, February 22 10:15 - 11:30 am

Enjoy a mindful morning of self-study during Cristina’s gentle class.

Learn More

Gentle Morning Yoga

Tuesday, January 19 - Tuesday, February 16 9:00 - 10:15 am

This easy-going yoga practice is designed to relax your mind and gently stretch and relieve tension in your body before you go about your day.

Learn More

FULL - Healthy Soils, Healthy Humans

Wednesday, February 10 - Wednesday, February 17 6 - 8:30 pm

Thank you for your interest, this course is now full.

Learn More

New! Exploring Macro Photography

Saturday, February 20 10 am - 3 pm

Learn how to take great close up pictures, set aperture and shutter speed and how to compose a great macro photo.

Learn More

FULL - Veggies - What to Grow and When to Sow

Wednesday, February 24 6 - 8:30 pm

Thank you for your interest – this course is now FULL. Follow the registration link to add your name to the wait list.

Learn More