Events, Flora and Courses

Public art, lectures, seasonal blooms, family adventures and courses — there is always something happening at VanDusen. See what’s on now and coming up soon.

Events

Holiday Heights at Bloedel Conservatory

Friday, December 9 - Monday, January 2 2017 4 - 9 pm

Experience a winter wonderland inside the Bloedel Conservatory with magical lights, festive music, a holiday scavenger hunt and much more.

Full details at vancouver.ca/holidayheights

Learn More

Bird Walk

Saturday, December 17 10 am

Take a guided tour through VanDusen and learn about the native bird species that make their home in the garden.

Learn More

Medicine Wheel Ceremony

Sunday, December 18 12 pm - 3 pm

People from varying backgrounds and spiritual traditions are invited to gather to celebrate the beginning of a new season in a beautiful outdoors setting at VanDusen Garden.

Learn More
Bloom Calendar

Winter

Wednesday, December 21 - Monday, March 20 2017

The winter Garden features muted colour palettes, stunning silhouettes and a scattering of colour with winter berries and blooms.

Learn More

Spring

Monday, March 20 2017 - Monday, June 20

In spring the Garden is bursting with cheerful rhododendrons, stunning magnolias, delicate cherry blossoms and bloom-full camellias –  to mention a few…

Summer

Tuesday, June 20 2017 - Tuesday, September 20

Summer in the Garden features vibrant colours and fragrant smells for our visitors to enjoy.

Learn More
Courses

Brain and Body Workout for Boomers and Beyond

Tuesday, November 29 - Tuesday, December 13 10:30 - 11:30 am

An evidence-based fitness program to improve both physical and brain conditioning.

Learn More

Yin Yoga and Meditation

Monday, December 12 10:15 - 11:30 am

The slow, mindful nature of yin yoga blends perfectly with a meditation practice.

Learn More

Better Balance Workout for Seniors

Wednesday, December 14 12 - 12:45 pm

This is a gentle class for all levels, focused on balance and mobility for fitness and for preventing falls.

Learn More

Yin Yoga and Meditation

Monday, January 16 2017 - Monday, February 27 2017 10:15 - 11:30 am

Enjoy a mindful morning of self-study during Cristina’s gentle class.

Learn More

Brain and Body Workout for Boomers and Beyond

Tuesday, January 17 2017 - Tuesday, February 21 2017 10:30 - 11:30 am

This class, designed by Kinesiologists and Occupational Therapists, is an evidence-based program to improve both physical and brain conditioning.

Learn More

Better Balance Workout for Seniors

Wednesday, January 18 2017 - Wednesday, February 22 2017 12:00 - 12:45 pm

This is a gentle class for all levels, focused on balance and mobility for fitness and for preventing falls.

Learn More

Herbs for Health – the Backyard Medicine Cabinet

Wednesday, January 18 2017 6 - 8:30 pm

Discover herbs that can be grown in gardens, planters, or your kitchen to be used as everyday medicines.

Learn More