Events, Flora and Courses

Public art, lectures, seasonal blooms, family adventures and courses — there is always something happening at VanDusen. See what’s on now and coming up soon.

Events

UP-CLOSE presented by Vancouver en-plein-air Group

Thursday, March 30 - Tuesday, June 27

New exhibition in the library features artwork zoomed in on nature.

Learn More

Mainly Vancouver - Work By Michael Kluckner

Saturday, April 29 - Sunday, May 28 During Garden Hours

Michael Kluckner’s first local exhibition in 11 years includes watercolours from his books about Vancouver, chiaroscuro woodcuts and drawings of people and places, and oil paintings exploring new territory.

Learn More

Preschool Storytime: Nature’s Stories for Young Children

Wednesday, May 24 - Wednesday, June 28 10:00 - 10:40 am

Every 4th Wednesday of the month in the Library

Learn More

Desert Plant Society of Vancouver - Show & Sale

Saturday, June 10 - Sunday, June 11 10 am - 4 pm

Join the Desert Plant Society of Vancouver for their annual show.

Learn More

Medicine Wheel Ceremony

Sunday, June 18 - Sunday, December 17 12:00 pm to 3:00 pm

People from varying backgrounds and spiritual traditions are invited to gather to celebrate the beginning of a new season in a beautiful outdoors setting at VanDusen Garden.

Learn More

Bird Walk

Saturday, June 24 10 am

Take a guided tour through VanDusen and learn about the native bird species that make their home in the garden

Learn More

Vancouver Shade Garden Society Show

Sunday, July 16 - Monday, July 17 10 am - 4 pm

Join the Vancouver Shade Garden Society for their annual show.

Learn More
Bloom Calendar

Summer

Tuesday, June 20 - Wednesday, September 20

Summer in the Garden features vibrant colours and fragrant smells for our visitors to enjoy.

Learn More

Fall

Friday, September 22 - Thursday, December 21

Autumn colours are absolutely stunning at the Garden, and there are plenty of blooms still showing.

Learn More

Winter

Thursday, December 21 - Tuesday, March 20 2018

The winter Garden features muted colour palettes, stunning silhouettes and a scattering of colour with winter berries and blooms.

Learn More
Courses

Brain and Body Workout for Boomers and Beyond

Tuesday, May 23 - Wednesday, June 14 10:30 - 11:30 am

This class, designed by Kinesiologists and Occupational Therapists, is an evidence-based program to improve both physical and brain conditioning.

Learn More

Better Balance Workout for Seniors

Wednesday, May 24 - Wednesday, June 14 12:00 - 12:45 pm

This is a gentle class for all levels, focused on balance and mobility for fitness and for preventing falls.

Learn More

New! Introduction to Vertical Gardening

Wednesday, May 24 6:30 - 9 pm

Explore living walls and green facades, and the systems used to implement them.

Learn More

FULL- Seaweed Pressing Workshop: Preserving Botanical Specimens

Saturday, May 27 10:30 am - 12 pm

Learn to press and preserve gorgeous seaweeds in a variety of colours, textures and sizes.

Learn More

FULL - Flower Photography

Saturday, May 27 10:30 am - 4 pm

This workshop will cover many of the technical and aesthetic aspects of flower photography.

Learn More

Yin Yoga and Meditation

Monday, May 29 - Monday, June 26 10:15 - 11:30 am

The slow, mindful nature of yin yoga blends perfectly with a meditation practice.

Learn More

New! Plants for Interest and Pizzazz in your Garden

Wednesday, May 31 6:30 - 9 pm

Learn how to design with diverse combinations of colours and patterns to add playful and bold features to your garden.

Learn More