Events, Flora and Courses

Public art, lectures, seasonal blooms, family adventures and courses — there is always something happening at VanDusen. See what’s on now and coming up soon.


Exhibition: Botanically Inspired

Thursday, October 1

A mixed media exhibition of works inspired by the garden.

Learn More

Botanically Inspired Opening Reception

Thursday, October 1 6pm to 8pm

Botanically Inspired Opening Reception is a fundraiser supporting CCBC and VBGA programs.

Learn More

Art Exhibition Opening in the Library

Saturday, October 3 2pm to 4pm

Intimacy – paintings by artist Barbara Cadario
Join the artist for tea and cakes

Learn More

Dried Flower Arrangers Sale

Friday, October 23 - Sunday, October 25 10:00am - 4:00pm

Come see us at this sale of dried flower topiaries, centrepieces, wreaths, bouquets and arrangements created with materials grown at VanDusen Botanical Garden.

Learn More

Family Program - Night Science for Kids

Friday, October 23 6 - 7:30 pm

Explore VanDusen Gardens in the evening, when an entirely new host of creatures come out to welcome you.

Learn More

Bird Walk

Saturday, October 24 10:00am

Learn about the native bird species that make their home at VanDusen.

Learn More

Vancouver Mycological Society Mushroom Show

Sunday, October 25 11:00am - 4:00pm

View various species of mushrooms and learn about these unique fungi at the annual mushroom show!

Learn More
Bloom Calendar

Spring Bloom

Sunday, February 1 - Sunday, May 31 3pm

See what’s blooming in Spring.

Learn More

Fall Bloom

Tuesday, September 1 - Monday, December 21

See what’s in bloom this fall. Autumn colours are absolutely stunning at the Gardens!

Learn More

Winter Bloom

Monday, December 21 3pm

Come see what’s in bloom during the winter months.

Learn More

New! Gardening with Ferns

Wednesday, October 14 6 - 8:30 pm

This class will explore how to incorporate ferns into your garden, offering interesting textural contrast to other plants.

Learn More

Lasagna Gardening

Saturday, October 17 10 am - 12:30 pm

Also called sheet-mulching, lasagna gardening is an easy way to build a garden bed and create rich and healthy soil without any digging or weeding.

Learn More

New! Yin Yoga and Meditation

Monday, October 19 - Monday, November 23 10:15 - 11:30 am

Enjoy a mindful morning of self-study during Cristina’s gentle class.

Learn More

iPhoneography Workshop

Tuesday, October 20 - Tuesday, October 27 6:30 - 9 pm

This class will cover digital photography skills using your iPhone or iPad.

Learn More

New! Gentle Morning Yoga

Tuesday, October 20 - Tuesday, November 24 9:00 - 10:15 am

This easy-going yoga practice is designed to relax your mind and gently stretch and relieve tension in your body before you go about your day.

Learn More

New! The Brain and Body Workout for Seniors

Tuesday, October 20 - Tuesday, November 24 10:30 - 11:30 am

This class, designed by Kinesiologists and Occupational Therapists, is an evidence-based program to improve both physical and brain conditioning.

Learn More

New! Better Balance Workout for Seniors

Wednesday, October 21 - Wednesday, December 2 1:30 - 2:15 pm

This is a gentle class for all levels, focused on balance and mobility for fitness and for preventing falls. Exercises can be done seated or standing, and participants will increase their functional strength and mobility, core stability, lower body strength, and improve their balance.

Learn More