Events, Flora and Courses

Public art, lectures, seasonal blooms, family adventures and courses — there is always something happening at VanDusen. See what’s on now and coming up soon.

Events

Works by Anna Milton

Friday, June 30 - Wednesday, September 27 during library hours

In the Yosef Wosk Library and Resource Centre

Learn More

BC Fuchsia and Begonia Society - Annual Show & Competition

Saturday, July 29 - Sunday, July 30 10 am - 4 pm

Join the BC Fuchsia & Begonia Society for their Annual Show & Competition.

Learn More

Social Sundays

Tuesday, August 1 - Thursday, August 31

Pack a blanket and bring your friends to VanDusen Botanical Garden for Social Sundays this August! Learn more>>

Sale of Orchids and Companion Plants

Saturday, August 19 10 am - 4 pm

Presented by the Vancouver Orchid Society

Learn More

Teacher Open House (free!)

Thursday, August 31 10 am - 12 pm

Save the Date! For K-12 Teachers.

 

Learn More

Dahlia Show

Saturday, September 2 - Sunday, September 3 12 - 3:30 pm

Join the Vancouver Dahlia Society for their annual show.

Learn More

Early Chrysanthemum Sale

Saturday, September 9 - Sunday, September 10 12 - 4 pm

Presented by the Point Grey Chrysanthemum Association

Learn More
Bloom Calendar

Spring

Monday, March 20 - Tuesday, June 20

In spring the Garden is bursting with cheerful rhododendrons, stunning magnolias, delicate cherry blossoms and bloom-full camellias –  to mention a few…

Fall

Friday, September 22 - Thursday, December 21

Autumn colours are absolutely stunning at the Garden, and there are plenty of blooms still showing.

Learn More

Winter

Thursday, December 21 - Tuesday, March 20 2018

The winter Garden features muted colour palettes, stunning silhouettes and a scattering of colour with winter berries and blooms.

Learn More
Courses

New! Gentle Yoga (Winter)

Wednesday, January 17 2018 - Wednesday, March 21 2018 10:15 - 11:30 am

Start your day with this gentle yoga practice; relieve tension held in hips, spine and shoulders to deeply relax your body.

Learn More

New! Drawing Vegetables

Friday, January 19 2018 10 am - 2 pm

This one-day workshop explores how to draw some seasonal vegetables: squash, root veggies, winter greens, and more!

Learn More

New! Essentials of Landscape Design

Wednesday, January 24 2018 - Wednesday, January 31 2018 6:30 - 9 pm

Spring is just around corner, so it’s time to start thinking about garden design.

Learn More

Botanical Illustration (Feb - Mar)

Friday, February 2 2018 - Friday, March 9 2018 10 am - 12:30 pm

Learn how to draw plants from an aesthetic and botanical perspective while improving your observation and artistic skills.

Learn More

Drawing Birds in the Conservatory

Saturday, February 10 2018 10 am - 3 pm

Whether it’s purely for the fun of drawing, or to strengthen observation skills for studying birds, learn how to capture the plain form and some essential features of birds with simple sketches.

Learn More

Veggies - What to Grow and When to Sow

Saturday, February 17 2018 10 am - 12:30 pm

For new (or always improving) vegetable gardeners, this course will cover the basics on what are the best veggies to grow in our climate, and how to successfully get started.

Learn More

New! Creative Photography: Tropical Textures

Saturday, February 17 2018 10:30 am - 4:30 pm

Bring your camera as we hunt for tropical treasures that are waiting to be photographed.

Learn More