Events, Flora and Courses

Public art, lectures, seasonal blooms, family adventures and courses — there is always something happening at VanDusen. See what’s on now and coming up soon.

Events

UP-CLOSE presented by Vancouver en-plein-air Group

Thursday, March 30 - Tuesday, June 27

New exhibition in the library features artwork zoomed in on nature.

Learn More

Mainly Vancouver - Work By Michael Kluckner

Saturday, April 29 - Sunday, May 28 During Garden Hours

Michael Kluckner’s first local exhibition in 11 years includes watercolours from his books about Vancouver, chiaroscuro woodcuts and drawings of people and places, and oil paintings exploring new territory.

Learn More

Preschool Storytime: Nature’s Stories for Young Children

Wednesday, May 24 - Wednesday, June 28 10:00 - 10:40 am

Every 4th Wednesday of the month in the Library

Learn More

Desert Plant Society of Vancouver - Show & Sale

Saturday, June 10 - Sunday, June 11 10 am - 4 pm

Join the Desert Plant Society of Vancouver for their annual show.

Learn More

Medicine Wheel Ceremony

Sunday, June 18 - Sunday, December 17 12:00 pm to 3:00 pm

People from varying backgrounds and spiritual traditions are invited to gather to celebrate the beginning of a new season in a beautiful outdoors setting at VanDusen Garden.

Learn More

Bird Walk

Saturday, June 24 10 am

Take a guided tour through VanDusen and learn about the native bird species that make their home in the garden

Learn More

Vancouver Shade Garden Society Show

Sunday, July 16 - Monday, July 17 10 am - 4 pm

Join the Vancouver Shade Garden Society for their annual show.

Learn More
Bloom Calendar

Summer

Tuesday, June 20 - Wednesday, September 20

Summer in the Garden features vibrant colours and fragrant smells for our visitors to enjoy.

Learn More

Fall

Friday, September 22 - Thursday, December 21

Autumn colours are absolutely stunning at the Garden, and there are plenty of blooms still showing.

Learn More

Winter

Thursday, December 21 - Tuesday, March 20 2018

The winter Garden features muted colour palettes, stunning silhouettes and a scattering of colour with winter berries and blooms.

Learn More
Courses

NEW DATE - Helping Bees in Urban Gardens

Sunday, June 18 10 am - 12:30 pm

Encourage bumblebee, mason bee, and other native bee populations in your urban garden.

Learn More

New! Drawing Flowers

Friday, June 23 10 am - 2 pm

Improve your drawing skills and capture a realistic depiction of a flower.

Learn More

Drought Tolerant Gardening

Wednesday, July 5 6:30 - 9 pm

This class explores how to maintain a beautiful garden under low water conditions.

Learn More

New! Drop-in Plein Air Watercolour

Thursday, July 6 - Thursday, July 27 9:30 am - 12:30 pm

For intermediate students looking to practice their watercolour skills outdoors.

Learn More

Mixology and your Garden

Thursday, July 6 7 - 8:30 pm

With summer just around the corner, what better time to broaden your entertaining toolkit with some botanical cocktails?

Learn More

New! From Seed to Harvest: Make the Most of your Urban Garden

Saturday, July 8 9:30 am - 12:30 pm

Growing food from seed is the least expensive and most rewarding way to plant your vegetable garden.

Learn More

New! Yin Yoga in the Garden

Monday, July 10 - Monday, August 21 10:15 - 11:30 am

Enjoy yoga under the trees.

Learn More